Interdisciplinary Centers and Institutes

Participate through research centers and institutes via industry memberships and consortia, where your company is less directly involved in the day-to-day research activities but still entitles you to influence project directions and gain access to the expertise of center/institute faculty and researchers.

With strategic initiatives spanning Advanced Manufacturing, Autonomous Systems, Big Data, Cybersecurity, Human Centered Computing, Materials Innovation, and Renewable Energy, the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering has established the following Institutes as university partners and resources to create opportunities for crossing boundaries and solving society’s most important problems:

Engineering Innovation Institute (EII)

EII Director: Erik Sander

EII Director: Erik Sander
esander@eng.ufl.edu
352-392-6000

Engineering Leadership Institute (ELI)

ELI Director: Lieutenant General (LTG) F. L. “Buster” Hagenbeck

ELI Director: Lieutenant General (LTG) F. L. “Buster” Hagenbeck
fhagenbeck@eng.ufl.edu
352-294-7909

Florida Institute for National Security (FINS)

FINS Director: Warren Dixon

FINS Director: Warren Dixon
wdixon@ufl.edu
352-846-1463

Institute for Cell & Tissue Science and Engineering

Institute Director: Tanmay Lele

Institute Director: Tanmay Lele
tlele@che.ufl.edu
352-392-0317

Institute for Computational Engineering (ICE)

ICE Director: S. “Bala” Balachandar

ICE Director: S. “Bala” Balachandar
bala1s@ufl.edu
352-392-8909

Institute for Networked Autonomous Systems (INAS)

INAS Director: Kamran Mohseni

INAS Director: Kamran Mohseni
mohseni@ufl.edu
352-273-1834

Nanoscience Institute for Medical and Engineering Technology (NIMET)

NIMET Director: Jack Judy

NIMET Director: Jack Judy
jack.judy@ufl.edu
352-846-2626

UF Transportation Institute (UFTI)

UFTI Director: Lily Elefteriadou

UFTI Director: Lily Elefteriadou
elefter@ce.ufl.edu
352-392-9537 x 1452

The University of Florida is also the lead institution for the Florida Energy Systems Consortium (FESC), comprising 12 academic partners across the State University System of Florida.

FESC Interim Director: David Norton

FESC Interim Director: David Norton
dpnorton@ufl.edu
352-392-0946

FESC Associate Director: Canan “Janan” Balaban

FESC Associate Director: Canan “Janan” Balaban
cbalaban@ufl.edu
352-294-2027

National Science Foundation Industry/University Cooperative Research Centers (NSF I/UCRCs)

The NSF I/UCRC Program has led the way to a new era of partnership between universities and industry, featuring high-quality, industrially relevant fundamental research, strong industrial support of and collaboration in research and education, and direct transfer of university developed ideas, research results, and technology to U.S. industries to improve their competitive posture in world markets.  Through innovative education of talented graduate and undergraduate students, the I/UCRCs are providing the next generation of scientists and engineers with a broad, industrially oriented perspective on engineering research and practice.

Center for Cyber-Physical Systems for the Hospital Operating Room (CybHOR)

The Center for Cyber-Physical Systems for the Hospital Operating Room focuses on computational science and technologies to advance, develop, and promote research into the principles and technology of computational surgery science.

CybHOR Project PI: Scott Banks
Email: banks@ufl.edu
Phone: 352-392-6109

CybHOR Project PI: Roger Tran-Son-Tay
Email: rtst@ufl.edu
Phone: 352-392-6229

Center for High-Performance Reconfigurable Computing (CHREC)

CHREC is devoted to scientific and engineering research in architectures, algorithms, programming, services, and systems for the advancement of multi-paradigm computing with hardware-reconfigurable and parallel processing, spanning special- and general-purpose needs, for a broad range of applications.

CHREC Director: Alan George

CHREC Director: Alan George
ageorge@ufl.edu
352-392-5225

Center for Particulate and Surfactant Systems (CPaSS)

CPaSS advances, develops and promotes Greener Surfactant & Particle Technologies, where ‘greener’ is defined as including or resulting in less hazardous reagents, energy/water/materials savings and more value added with little to no compromise in performance.

CPaSS Director: Brij M. Moudgil

CPaSS Director: Brij M. Moudgil
bmoudgil@perc.ufl.edu
352-846-1194

Multi-functional Integrated System Technology (MIST) Center

MIST is innovating more than Moore technologies for smart systems in the Internet of Things era by facilitating integration of novel materials, processes, devices and circuits into multi-functional systems.

MIST Director: Toshi Nishida

MIST Director: Toshi Nishida
nishida@ufl.edu
352-392-6774

MIST Deputy Director: David Arnold

MIST Deputy Director: David Arnold
darnold@ufl.edu
352-392-4931

Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering Research Centers and Institutes

Of the over 180 research centers and institutes at the University of Florida, the following are administered by the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering’s Office of Research and Facilities: