Schools and Departments

The Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering, led by Dean Cammy R. Abernathy, has one of the largest tenured/tenure-track engineering faculties in the country, comprising 275+ members spanning nine schools and departments.  Our highly productive and creative faculty includes one National Academy of Engineering member and over 55 NSF CAREER, Young Investigator, and PECASE awardees.

Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering Schools

Engineering School of Sustainable Infrastructure & Environment (ESSIE)

Includes the Department of Civil & Coastal Engineering (CCE) and the Department of Environmental Engineering Sciences (EES)

ESSIE Director: Kirk Hatfield

ESSIE Director: Kirk Hatfield
kirk.hatfield@essie.ufl.edu
352-294-7775

CCE Department Head: Robert Thieke

CCE Department Head: Robert Thieke 
robert.thieke@essie.ufl.edu
352-294-7783

EES Department Head: C.Y. Wu

EES Department Head: C.Y. Wu
cywu@ufl.edu
352-392-0845

Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering Departments

Department of Agricultural & Biological Engineering (ABE)

Through the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences (CALS)

ABE Chair: Dorota Haman

ABE Chair: Dorota Haman
dhaman@ufl.edu
352-392-1864 x 120

J. Crayton Pruitt Family Department of Biomedical Engineering (BME)

BME Chair: Christine Schmidt

BME Chair: Christine Schmidt
schmidt@bme.ufl.edu
352-273-9222

Department of Chemical Engineering (ChE)

Interim ChE Chair: Carlos Rinaldi
carlos.rinaldi@ufl.edu
352-392-0881

Department of Computer & Information Science & Engineering (CISE)

CISE Chair: Juan Gilbert

CISE Chair: Juan Gilbert
juan@ufl.edu
352-562-0784

Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering (ECE)

ECE Chair: John Harris

ECE Chair: John Harris
harris@cnel.ufl.edu
352-392-0913

Department of Industrial & Systems Engineering (ISE)

Interim ISE Chair: Yongpei Guan

Interim ISE Chair: Lily Elefteriadou
elefter@ce.ufl.edu
352-294-7700

Department of Materials Science & Engineering (MSE)

Includes the Nuclear Engineering Program (NEP)

MSE Chair: Michele Manuel
mmanuel@mse.ufl.edu
352-846-3780

Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering (MAE)

MAE Chair: David Hahn

MAE Chair: David Hahn
dwhahn@ufl.edu
352-392-0807