Academy of Golden Gators honors former dean Cammy Abernathy for philanthropic leadership

In Featured, Honors & Awards, NewsBy David FinnertyStory originally published on Gator Nation News

Cammy Abernathy, Ph.D., superimposed over Emerson Alumni Hall on the University of Florida campus

UF’s 10th Academy of Golden Gators honors philanthropists and volunteers in the region

The 2023 inductees include outgoing Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering dean Cammy Abernathy. This year’s awardees were recognized during the academy’s 10th induction ceremony on March 3. The event was held in West Palm Beach.

Cammy Abernathy, Ph.D., former dean of Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering and professor in MSE

Cammy Abernathy
Philanthropic Leadership Award

Abernathy, who in December stepped down as dean of UF’s Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering, led the college through a period of unprecedented growth during her 13-year tenure. Her leadership, as well as her vision to reimagine an engineering education to better prepare future engineers to be 21st century problem-solvers, inspired major private investments in the college. Two of the most notable were Dr. Herbert and Nicole Wertheim’s 2015 catalyst gift for the largest expansion in the college’s 100-year history and NVIDIA cofounder Chris Malachowsky’s commitment in 2020 to revolutionize UF’s curriculum to focus more on artificial intelligence.

Read the complete story with all inductees on UF Advancement’s Gator Nation News