Biosensor Innovator Named Fellow of AAAS

In Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Featured, Honors & Awards, Research & Innovation

Z. Hugh Fan, a professor in the University of Florida’s Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering, has been named a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Election as a Fellow of AAAS is an honor given to members by their peers for exemplary efforts to advance science or its applications.

Fan, who is also an affiliated faculty member of the J. Crayton Pruitt Family Department of Biomedical Engineering, was recognized for distinguished contributions to the field of microfluidics, particularly for platform development and their biomedical applications. He joins 46 other UF professors listed by the AAAS as fellows, including UF President Kent Fuchs and Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering Dean Cammy Abernathy.

Fan’s research interests include microfluidics, BioMEMS (Biomedical MicroElectroMechanical Systems), sensors, cancer diagnostics, and bioengineering. He is a recipient of the E.T.S. Walton Award from the Science Foundation of Ireland, Fraunhofer-Bessel Award from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation and Career Development Award from National Institute of Health.

At UF, Fan is one of nine faculty members of the Interdisciplinary Microsystems Group and is a member of the UF Health Cancer Center. He was awarded the UF Technology Innovator Award in 2014 and 2015, and was named a UF Research Foundation Professorship in 2014.

Fan received his B. Sc. from Yangzhou Teachers’ College (now a part of Yangzhou University) in China and his Ph.D. from the University of Alberta in Canada. He worked as a postdoctoral fellow at Ames Laboratory of U.S. Department of Energy at Iowa State University.