Read Story

NVIDIA Founder Chris Malachowsky Inducted Into Florida Inventors Hall Of Fame

In Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Honors & Awards, News

Chris Malachowsky, an alumnus of UF’s Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering, was selected for inventing the Graphics Processing Unit (GPU) that transformed the visual computing industry by creating a consumer-oriented 3D graphics market. Under Malachowsky’s leadership, NVIDIA has evolved the GPU into a computer brain that intersects virtual reality, high performance computing and artificial intelligence. He holds 35 U.S. patents. …

Read Story

University of Florida wins 2019 Engineering Deans’ Cup

In Carousel, Engineering Education, Honors & Awards

The cup is awarded each year to the university achieving the greatest success in 30 annual, team-based engineering student competitions. The inaugural champion was Virginia Tech. This year, the University of Florida came out on top as the overall champion, with The Georgia Institute of Technology coming in a close second, followed by California Polytechnic University in San Luis Obispo.

Read Story

Olabarrieta Receives the PECASE Award

In Engineering School of Sustainable Infrastructure and Environment, Honors & Awards, News, Research & Innovation

The PECASE award is described as the highest honor given by the U.S. Government to exceptional new scientists and engineers who contribute to the advancement of the STEM fields through scientific leadership, community outreach and public education.  Dr. Olabarrieta was one of four University of Florida faculty members to receive the PECASE award.  “I am very honored,” Dr. Olabarrieta said. …

Read Story

31 Faculty Awarded University Term Professorships

In Department of Chemical Engineering, Department of Computer and Information Science and Engineering, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Engineering School of Sustainable Infrastructure and Environment, Honors & Awards, ICYMI, J Crayton Pruitt Family Department of Biomedical Engineering, News, Research & Innovation

The University Term Professorship was established in 2016 and is presented to 250 eligible faculty members annually. Selection of University Term Professorships is based on an assessment of academic accomplishment by either a faculty advisory committee and/or the department chair and approved by the dean. Each award runs for 3 years and provides a $5,000/year salary supplement to the awardee. …