UF Engineering dean recognized nationally for commitment to safety

In Featured, Honors & Awards, News

Cammy Abernathy, the dean of the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering, has been selected by the Campus Safety Health and Environment Management Association, or CSHEMA, for its “Campus Leaders Who Care” award. This honor recognizes senior leaders who have made significant contributions to the advancement of environmental, health and safety standards in their institutions.

Dean Abernathy pioneered several safety policies that have earned her this distinction. Under her leadership, Engineering became the first college on the UF campus – and one of the first in the country – to hire a full-time safety officer. She’s also established a faculty-led safety committee with representatives from each of the college’s nine departments to weigh in on methods to promote a safe culture for students, faculty and researchers.

In addition to adopting and integrating the college’s first health and safety objectives, Dean Abernathy has also dedicated significant funding for safety improvements, and created programs and curriculum to engage students.

“We cannot be successful engineering leaders if we do not have safety at the center of all that we do.” Abernathy said.

Amy Haberman, the safety officer for the college, spearheads the safety strategy and mission outlined by Dean Abernathy.

“Due to Dean Abernathy’s unwavering commitment to safety and her vision and leadership, the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering has truly begun to incorporate safety as a core value pervasive in all its research, teaching and service activities,” Haberman said. “This places the college squarely at the forefront nationally for engineering colleges in terms of promoting a culture of safety.”

The Campus Leaders Who Care award will be presented at CSHEMA’s upcoming annual conference in Austin at the end of July.

Writer: Abigail Eisenstadt