Three Gator Engineering professors among those honored by UF Research Foundation

In Honors & Awards, News, Research & Innovation

GAINESVILLE, Fla. — The University of Florida Research Foundation has named 33 faculty members as UFRF Professors for 2014-2017.

The recognition goes to faculty who have a distinguished current record of research and a strong research agenda that is likely to lead to continuing distinction in their fields.

The UFRF Professors were recommended by their college deans based on nominations from their department chairs, a personal statement and an evaluation of their recent research accomplishments as evidenced by publications in scholarly journals, external funding, honors and awards, development of intellectual property and other measures appropriate to their field of expertise. In many colleges, this selection process is conducted by a special faculty committee.

“For nearly two decades, the UFRF Professorships have recognized the university’s top faculty researchers,” said David Norton, UF’s vice president for research. “Key to the UFRF Professorship selection process is that it is based not only on what these individuals have done in the past, but what they are expected to achieve in the future. These are faculty who we anticipate will continue to generate cutting-edge research well into the future.”

The three-year award includes a $5,000 annual salary supplement and a one-time $3,000 grant. The professorships are funded from the university’s share of royalty and licensing income on UF-generated products.

This year’s UFRF Professors are listed below:

Warrington College of Business Administration

Joseph Alba
Distinguished Professor of Marketing

College of Dentistry

Ozlem Yilmaz
Associate Professor of Periodontology

College of Design, Construction and Planning

Charlie Hailey
Associate Professor of Architecture

College of Education

David J. Therriault
Associate Professor of Education

College of Engineering

Z. Hugh Fan
Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Mark E. Orazem
Professor of Chemical Engineering

Jose C. Principe
Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering

College of Fine Arts

Anna Calluori Holcombe
Professor of Ceramics

Florida Museum of Natural History

Nico Cellinese
Associate Curator of Natural History

College of Health and Human Performance

Thomas L. Clanton
Professor of Applied Physiology and Kinesiology

Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences

Matthew J. Cohen
Associate Professor of Forest Water Resources and Watershed Systems

Valerie de Crecy-Lagard
Associate Professor of Microbiology and Cell Sciences

Jeffrey B. Jones

Professor of Plant Pathology

G. Cliff Lamb
Professor of Reproductive Physiology

Yuncong Li
Professor of Soil and Water Science

Lukasz L. Stelinski
Associate Professor of Entomology and Nematology

College of Journalism and Communications

Amy Jo Coffey
Associate Professor of Telecommunication

Levin College of Law

Christine A. Klein
Professor of Law

College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Clarence C. Gravlee
Associate Professor of Anthropology

Andrey Korytov
Professor of Physics

Michelle Cailin Mack
Professor of Biology

Joseph G. Meert
Professor of Geological Sciences

Victoria Emma Pagán
Professor of Classics

College of Medicine

Chen Liu
Professor of Pathology, Immunology and Laboratory Medicine

Lauren M. McIntyre
Professor of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology

Lyle L. Moldawer
Professor of Surgery

Rolf Renne
Professor of Molecular Genetics and Microbiology

Mark S. Segal
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine

Andrew M. Kaunitz
Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology

College of Nursing

Jeanne-Marie R. Stacciarini
Associate Professor of Nursing

College of Pharmacy

Charles A. Peloquin
Professor of Pharmacotherapy and Translational Research

College of Public Health and Health Professions

Catherine Price
Associate Professor of Clinical and Health Psychology

College of Veterinary Medicine

Rosanna Marsella
Professor of Small Animal Clinical Sciences