2019-2020 Awards for the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering

In Carousel, Honors & Awards, News

Photo of HWCOE college awards at last year's awards ceremony.
Photo of HWCOE college awards at last year's awards ceremony.

The Herbert Wertheim College Awards recognize faculty, staff, and students receiving UF and/or college awards in the 2019-2020 academic year and celebrate together the excellence of Gator Engineering and the fundamental values of our college.

Congratulations to the following awardees! 

International Educator of the Year

    • Junior Faculty Award: Yier Jin, Ph.D.
    • Senior Faculty Award: José C. Príncipe, Ph.D.

Doctoral Dissertation Adviser/Mentoring Awards

  • Bala Balachandar, Ph.D.
  • Wesley Bolch, Ph.D.
  • Kevin Butler, Ph.D.
  • Yuguang (Michael) Fang, Ph.D.
  • Peng Jiang, Ph.D.

Undergraduate Teacher of the Year

  • Gregory Stitt, Ph.D.

Faculty Adviser/Mentor of the Year

  • Mark Law, Ph.D.

Teacher/Scholar of the Year

  • Jose A. B. Fortes, Ph.D.

Khargonekar Award

  • Blanka Sharma, Ph.D.

Faculty Leadership Award

  • Christine Angelini, Ph.D.

Faculty Innovation Award

  • Elif Akcali, Ph.D.

Excellence Award for Assistant Professors

  • David Hibbitts, Ph.D.

UF Research Foundation Professorship Award

  • Richard Hennig, Ph.D.
  • Prabhat Mishra, Ph.D.
  • Ghatu Subhash, Ph.D.