2020-2021 Awards for the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering

In Carousel, Honors & Awards, News

Photo of HWCOE college awards at last year's awards ceremony.

The Herbert Wertheim College Awards recognize faculty, staff, and students receiving UF and/or college awards in the 2020-2021 academic year and celebrate together the excellence of Gator Engineering and the fundamental values of our college.

Congratulations to the following awardees! 

International Educator of the Year

  • Junior Faculty Award: Pingchien Neo, M.S.
  • Senior Faculty Award: Oana Cazacu, Ph.D.

Doctoral Dissertation Advisor/Mentoring Awards

  • Thomas E. Angelini, Ph.D.
  • James Baciak, Ph.D.
  • Mark E. Orazem, Ph.D.
  • Ghatu Subhash, Ph.D.
  • Yong Yang, Ph.D.

Undergraduate Teacher of the Year

  • Joel B. Harley, Ph.D.

Faculty Advisor/Mentor of the Year

  • Sarah Furtney, Ph.D.

Teacher/Scholar of the Year

  • Mark Tehranipoor, Ph.D.

Pramod P. Khargonekar Award

  • Roozbeh Tabrizian, Ph.D.

Faculty Award for Excellence in Leadership

  • Kyle D. Allen, Ph.D.

Faculty Award for Excellence in Innovation

  • Peter G. Ifju, Ph.D.

Excellence Award for Assistant Professors

  • Edward A. Phelps, Ph.D.