Who is my advisor?

Who is my advisor?

First Year & Exploratory Engineering Students

All incoming freshmen and exploratory engineering students are advised by the Center for Student Excellence. First-year students participate in a range of workshops, programs, and individual meetings that foster personal, professional and academic excellence.

Students who are continuing with us from the previous year will continue to work with their current advisor.

Virtual Open Advising hours will return in Fall 2021
unsure where to go for advising? send an email to advising@eng.ufl.edu

In the Fall and Spring semesters, Peer Advisors are also available for advising. For assistance with your 4-year plan or general questions, please meet with one of our knowledgeable and friendly Engineering Peer Advisors. Peer Advisors will be available during open advising hours.

If you are a student outside the College of Engineering who wants to attend the virtual open advising hours, please email advising@eng.ufl.edu and we will provide the Zoom link.


STEPUP and INNOVATION ACADEMY students are assigned by program and not by alphabet. Review the list to make sure you are scheduling properly.

If you are a participant in: Your advisor is:
 INNOVATION ACADEMY Sterling Davenport
Schedule an advising appointment
STEPUP Deborah Mayhew
Schedule an advising appointment
If your last name begins with: Your advisor is:
A — Cook Angelica Rojas
Schedule an advising appointment
Cool — Hoang, N. Andrea Fabic
Schedule an advising appointment
Hoang, P. — McD Joel Parker
Schedule an advising appointment
McG — Rue Daniel Moore
Schedule an advising appointment
Rui — Z Jonathon Ladin
Schedule an advising appointment

2nd Year & Upper Division Students

Students who have successfully completed their first year of engineering study will transition to departmental advising in the fall of their second academic year (spring for Innovation Academy students). Students who were on probation at the end of spring term, will not transition to departmental advising until fall grades have been reviewed.

Major Advisor(s) Location
Aerospace Engineering Dr. Bruce Carroll Shirley Robinson Michael Fitzgerald 218 MAE-A 219 MAE-A 219 MAE-A 219 MAE-A
Biological Engineering Dr. Ana Martin-Ryals Robin Snyder 115 Rogers 116 Rogers
Biomedical Engineering Dr. Sarah Furtney Kelly Stalter JG56 Biomedical Sciences
Chemical Engineering Cynthia Sain 262 CHE Student Services
Civil Engineering Dr. Robert Thieke Sophie Spratley 370 Weil
Computer Engineering Chip Johnson 230 Larsen
Computer Science and Digital Arts and Sciences Todd Best Jessica McCarty 405 Computer Science Building
Electrical Engineering Nicole Young 230 Larsen Hall
Environmental Engineering  Dr. Elliot Douglas 320 Black Hall Schedule an appointment
Industrial & Systems

Marcellas Preston Amanda DiTrapani

373 Weil Hall
Materials Science &  Eng Tahara Franklin
Ade Kumuyi
108 Rhines Hall Schedule an appointment (Tahara Franklin)
Mechanical Engineering Dr. Bruce Carroll Shirley Robinson Michael Fitzgerald Sierra McVeigh Sarah Wilder 218 MAE-A 219 MAE-A 219 MAE-A 219 MAE-A
Nuclear Engineering Tahara Franklin Ade Kumuyi 108 Rhines Hall Schedule an appointment (Tahara Franklin)