J. Crayton Pruitt Family Department of Biomedical Engineering

The fundamental mission of the Biomedical Engineering department at the University of Florida is to better the world and improve the human condition through interdisciplinary and creative merging of engineering with biology and medicine.


Contact

JG-56 Biomedical Sciences Building
P.O. Box 116131
Gainesville, FL 32611-6131
352-273-9222

 

Administration & Advising

Christine E. Schmidt
Chair
schmidt@bme.ufl.edu

Carlos Rinaldi
Charles A. Stokes Term Professor & Senior Associate Chair
carlos.rinaldi@bme.ufl.edu

Cherie Stabler
Associate Professor & Associate Chair for Graduate Studies
cstabler@bme.ufl.edu

Kyle D. Allen
Assistant Professor & Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies
kyle.allen@bme.ufl.edu

David Gilland
Associate Professor & Undergraduate Coordinator
gilland@ufl.edu

Brandi Ormerod
Associate Professor & Director, BME Graduate Student Diversity and Professional Development
bormerod@bme.ufl.edu

 

What do Biomedical Engineers do?

Biomedical engineers analyze and design solutions to problems in biology and medicine, with the goal of improving the quality and effectiveness of patient care.

Source: U.S. Department of Labor Bureau of Labor Statistics

The J. Crayton Pruitt Family

The J. Crayton Pruitt Family Department of Biomedical Engineering is UF’s first named department. In 1995, Dr. J. Crayton Pruitt Sr., a cardiothoracic surgeon from St. Petersburg, Fla., received a heart transplant at Shands at UF. A biventricular assist device — a classic example of biomedical engineering technology — kept him alive for 10 days while he waited for a heart. The experience left Dr. Pruitt and his family with a profound appreciation for biomedical engineering. Several years later, he made a donation that is expected to create a $20 million endowment for the department that now bears his name.