Schools & Departments

The departments of the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering focus on today’s most pressing engineering questions. Our interdisciplinary core means that college researchers regularly collaborate with colleagues in departments and colleges beyond their own.

The Engineering School of Sustainable Infrastructure & Environment (ESSIE) brings together civil, environmental, and coastal and oceanographic faculty to solve unique problems of sustainability. Established in 2010, ESSIE encompasses the Department of Civil and Coastal Engineering and the Department of Environmental Engineering Sciences.

Administration

Kirk Hatfield
Director
Engineering School of Sustainable Infrastructure & Environment
kirk.hatfield@essie.ufl.edu

Bob Thieke
Head
Department of Civil & Coastal Engineering
rthie@ce.ufl.edu

Michael Annable
Head
Department of Environmental Engineering Sciences
annable@ufl.edu

Contact

365 Weil Hall
P.O. Box 116580
Gainesville, FL 32611
352-392-9537
Fax: 352-392-3394
director@essie.ufl.edu

Biological Engineering (BE) applies engineering principles to protect natural resources and to produce food, biofuels, pharmaceuticals, and other biobased products. BE incorporates foundations of biology with engineering theory and practice to develop sustainable solutions to problems facing a broad range of industries.

Administration & Advising

Kati Migliaccio
Chair
klwhite@ufl.edu

Greg Kiker
Graduate Coordinator
gkiker@ufl.edu

Dr. Ana Martin-Ryals
BE Undergraduate Coordinator
admartin@ufl.edu

Adam Watson
AOM Undergraduate Coordinator
jaw7385@ufl.edu

Robin Snyder
Coordinator, Academic Support Services
rsnyder@ufl.edu

Contact

115 Frazier-Rogers Hall
P.O. Box 110570
Gainesville, FL 32611
352-392-1864
abeinfo@ufl.edu

The fundamental mission of the J. Crayton Pruitt Family Department of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Florida is to better the world and improve the human condition through interdisciplinary and creative merging of engineering with biology and medicine.

Administration & Advising

Cherie Stabler
Professor, J. Crayton Pruitt Family Chair & Department Chair
cstabler@bme.ufl.edu

Lakiesha Williams
Professor & Associate Chair for Graduate Studies
lwilliams@bme.ufl.edu

Walter Lee Murfee
Associate Professor & Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies
wmurfee@bme.ufl.edu

Greg Hudalla
Associate Professor & Graduate Coordinator
ghudalla@bme.ufl.edu

Sarah Furtney
Instructional Associate Professor & Undergraduate Coordinator
furtney@bme.ufl.edu

Contact

JG-56 Biomedical Sciences Building
P.O. Box 116131
Gainesville, FL 32611-6131
352-273-9222
info@bme.ufl.edu

The fundamental mission of the J. Crayton Pruitt Family Department of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Florida is to better the world and improve the human condition through interdisciplinary and creative merging of engineering with biology and medicine.

Administration & Advising

Carlos M. Rinaldi-Ramos
Chair & Professor
carlos.rinaldi@ufl.edu

Spyros Svoronos
Undergraduate Coordinator
svoronos@ufl.edu

Contact

227 Chemical Building
P.O. Box 116005
Gainesville, FL 32611-6005
352-392-0881
chemical@che.ufl.edu

The Department of Computer & Information Science & Engineering (CISE) is concerned with the theory, design, development and application of computer systems and information processing techniques.

The mission of the Department of Computer & Information Science & Engineering is to educate students, as well as the broader campus community, in the fundamental concepts of the computing discipline; to create and disseminate computing knowledge and technology; and to use expertise in computing to help society solve problems.

Administration & Advising

Juan E. Gilbert
The Banks Family Preeminence Endowed Professor and Department Chair
juan@ufl.edu

Joseph N. Wilson
Graduate Program Director
jnw@ufl.edu

Peter J. Dobbins
Undergraduate Coordinator
ug-coordinator@cise.ufl.edu

Kristina Sapp
Admissions
klsapp@ufl.edu

Contact

E301 CSE Building
P.O. Box 116120
Gainesville, FL 32611
352-392-1200

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) offers two majors for undergraduates: electrical engineering (EE) and computer engineering (CPE). Electrical engineers and computer engineers develop technology to control energy and information.

Administration & Advising

Mark Tehranipoor
Chair
tehranipoor@ece.ufl.edu

Yong-Kyu (YK) Yoon
Graduate Coordinator
ykyoon@ece.ufl.edu

Erin Patrick
Undergraduate Coordinator
ee1@ece.ufl.edu

Contact

5000 Malachowsky Hall
1889 Museum Road
PO Box 116200
Gainesville, FL 32611-6200
352-392-0911
tehranipoor@ece.ufl.edu

The Department of Engineering Education was formed in June 2019. The department specializes in engineering education research and the delivery of innovative and effective instructional methods in engineering undergraduate courses, as well as assessment. Our faculty design and teach large enrollment undergraduate engineering courses that span multiple majors using methods that promote conceptual understanding and student retention. We perform research into the effectiveness of learning methods, and continually strive to improve and adapt course content and delivery methods to serve students and faculty throughout the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering.

Administration & Advising

Hans van Oostrom
Chair
oostrom@ufl.edu

Idalis Villanueva Alarcón
Associate Chair for Research & Graduate Studies and Associate Professor
i.villanueva@ufl.edu

Lilianny Virguez
Interim Associate Chair for Academics & Instructional Associate Professor
352-294-1384
lilianny.virguez@ufl.edu

Tammy Hedman
Administrative Assistant III
352-392-9643
thedman@eng.ufl.edu

Julia Milgram
Academic Assistant II
352-392-9672
jmilgram@ufl.edu

Pamela Simon
Academic Assistant II
352-392-9672
phs@ufl.edu

Audrey Hall
Academic Advisor
352-273-2231
audrey.hall@ufl.edu

Contact

PO Box 116165
Gainesville, FL 32611
Phone: 352-392-9672
phs@ufl.edu

The Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering strives to be a resource for comprehensive ISE education and research training, and make use of advanced computing technology, cutting-edge programming languages, social media, data mining, and AI to support the needs, interests, and training of students.

Administration & Advising

Iris Rivero
Chair
iris.rivero@ise.ufl.edu

Yongpei Guan 
Associate Chair for Graduate Studies
guan@ise.ufl.edu

Serdar Kirli 
Associate Chair for Undergraduate Studies
kirli@ise.ufl.edu

Contact

303 Weil Hall
P.O. Box 116595
Gainesville, FL 32611-6595
352-392-1464
info@ise.ufl.edu

MSE stands among the best materials, metallurgy and ceramics departments in the nation. The department firmly believes that research is teaching, and so students of all levels are involved in almost every research and development project. The bachelor’s degree program provides a broad materials science and engineering core with specialization in ceramics, electronic materials, metals or polymeric and biomaterials. Biomaterials is also taught at the combination bachelor’s/master’s level.

At UF, the Nuclear Engineering program is housed within the Department of Materials Science and Engineering. The program offers students an opportunity to work on research teams related to backscatter radiation, extreme environments testing and nuclear fuel cycles. Students conduct research alongside academics and in partnership with national labs and government agencies, including Idaho National Laboratory and the Department of Energy.

Administration & Advising

Michele Manuel
Chair
mmanuel@mse.ufl.edu

Wolfgang Sigmund
Graduate Coordinator
352-846-3343
sigmund@ufl.edu

Gerhard E. Fuchs
Undergraduate Coordinator
352-846-3317
gfuch@mse.ufl.edu

Andreas Enqvist
Nuclear Engineering Program Director
(352) 294-2177
enqvist@mse.ufl.edu

DuWayne Schubring
NE Undergraduate Coordinator
352-294-7870
dlschubring@ufl.edu

Justin Watson
NE Graduate Coordinator
(352) 273-0241
justin.watson@ufl.edu

Contact

100 Rhines Hall
P.O. Box 116400
Gainesville, FL 32611-6400
352-846-3300
info@mse.ufl.edu

The Department of Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering (MAE) is one of the founding departments of the Herbert Wertheim College of Engineering and the largest academic program on campus by student enrollment. Twenty years after the successful merger of the mechanical and aerospace programs, MAE remains a vibrant and intellectually diverse program at both the undergraduate and graduate level.

Administration & Advising

Warren Dixon
Chair
chair@mae.ufl.edu

Hitomi Greenslet
Graduate Coordinator
gradcoordinator@mae.ufl.edu

Mike Griffis
Undergraduate Coordinator
undergradcoordinator@mae.ufl.edu

Contact

231 MAE-A
P.O. Box 116250
Gainesville, FL 32611
352-392-0961
chair@mae.ufl.edu

The Engineering Innovation Institute serves as a nexus of engineering innovation education and experiential programs extending across the spectrum of creative discovery and invention, to the transition of UF engineering technologies and innovative students to the marketplace.

The Engineering Leadership Institute is preparing a diverse student body to work across disciplines and to step into leadership roles. Classes offered through the Engineering Leadership Institute produce the principles-based, character-focused leaders urgently needed by our country and the world.