Research News Headlines


May the Best Brain Win

Friday, October 28th, 2016

Daily Planet's host Ziya Tong challenges reigning #BrainDroneRace champion and UF student Amber Hawthorne. Watch the race on Discovery Canada.

UF Professors Discuss How Technology Can Make Voting Accessible

Monday, October 24th, 2016

Originally posted in The Alligator Two UF professors juxtaposed how to make voting accessible and secure with what those votes could mean for the presidency Tuesday night. About 50 people […]


Collaborative engineering research could lead to scar-free healing

Thursday, October 20th, 2016

UF researcher Chelsey Simmons is studying the cellular mechanics of fibrosis and regeneration in a unique breed of mammals.


UF Engineering faculty to optimize mentoring strategies for minority Ph.D. students

Thursday, October 6th, 2016

Profs. Gilbert & Daily among first awarded in new NSF program aimed to make STEM fields more inclusive


Going for the Gold

Wednesday, September 14th, 2016

The UF Engineering student startup that is transforming physical therapy for spinal cord injuries will compete in the world's first Cybathlon.

Christine Angelini bivalve research

Coastal restoration in one-tenth of the time

Friday, August 19th, 2016

Environmental engineering professor publishes breakthrough approach to create resilient coastal communities.


UF Nuclear Engineering Takes on U.S. Department of Energy Challenges

Friday, July 22nd, 2016

Research includes building robots that can traverse high radiation environments and pinpointing ideal materials for constructing nuclear reactors.

UF’s New Electronics Security Lab to be Outfitted by Tektronix

Tuesday, July 19th, 2016

This announcement originally appeared on PRNewsWire. BEAVERTON, Ore. – Tektronix, Inc., a leading worldwide provider of measurement solutions, today announced that the Florida Institute for Cybersecurity Research (FICS Research) at the […]

15-007 Slider ONR-MURI

UF Engineering part of $7.5 M defense department study of spray behavior and control

Thursday, July 14th, 2016

Under the direction of "Bala" Balachandar, UF's Institute for Computational Engineering will contribute to the multidisciplinary university research initiative.

Bridge Photo

Bridges could soon be inspected by aerial drones

Wednesday, July 13th, 2016

UF Engineering faculty and NSF CAREER awardee Jennifer Rice is exploring best practices with emerging technologies.

More research news headlines »