NE Seminar: “The Division of Physical and Chemical Sciences (NAPC) at the IAEA”


1:50 pm-2:50 pm
Add to Outlook/iCal
Add to Google Calendar

Event URL

Zoom link


Melissa Denecke, Ph.D.
Director, Division of Physical and Chemical Sciences
International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)

Dr. Melissa Denecke is the Director of the IAEA’s Division of Physical and Chemical Sciences (NAPC). Previously, she was Scientific Director of the Dalton Nuclear Institute at the University of Manchester in the United Kingdom, holding a Chair in the University’s School of Chemistry. Before that, she was department head for ‘Actinide Speciation’ at the Institute for Nuclear Waste Disposal at Karlsruhe Institute of Technology in Germany. Other positions held were at the School of Engineering, Offenburg, Forschungszentrum Rossendorf e.V. (FZR) and the Hamburg University. 


Applications of non-power nuclear technologies positively impact health, prosperity and security of both the developed and developing countries. Safe and economical applications of existing technologies as well as development of new nuclear technologies rely on understanding the underlying physical and chemical processes.

The Division of Physical and Chemical Sciences (NAPC) at the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), in the Department of Nuclear Sciences and Applications (NA), supports Member States (MS) in nuclear sciences to build capacities and optimise benefits from nuclear technologies. The areas of nuclear science addressed are broad:

Atomic, molecular and nuclear data

Nuclear and radiation techniques, their applications and allied instrumentation

Utilization of research reactors and particle accelerators

Radioisotopes and radiopharmaceuticals

Radiation processing applications

Radiation technology and isotopic tracers for industrial processes 

Isotope hydrology and water resources management

Nuclear fusion

NAPC delivers this mandate via a number of Agency tools/processes, including offering and curating databases and analytical services, conducting Coordinated Research Projects (CRPs), working with IAEA Collaborating Centres (CCs), and providing technical backstopping of Technical Cooperation (TC) projects. Activities are organized into three IAEA Programmes, namely, Nuclear Science (NSP), Water Resources (WRP) and Radioisotopes Production and Radiation Technology (RPRT), managed and delivered by four Sections, Nuclear Data Section, Physics Section, Isotope Hydrology Section and RPRT Section and two (soon to be 3) laboratory facilities.


Hosted by

Materials Science & Engineering Dept.